Solaris command to find permission in octal value

           In a shell script that I wrote some time back, I need to change the permission of an executable and then revert it back when the script ends. I decided to do this in using “chmod” command. But the problem arises when I need to find the permission value in octal. “ls –l” gives the permission in rwx format.  So I raised a query in sun forums, luckily I got reply from wrobbins2 explaining about the “pkgproto” command which does the work perfectly,

  Usage: /usr/bin/pkgproto filename

Thanks wrobbins !!

 

2 Responses

  1. stat -c %a

  2. Thanks Tom !! However, stat is not a standard package with Solaris, it mandates us to install GNU coreutils !!

Leave a Reply

